Log levels

Log messages are emitted by a wide range of operations within DataLad. They are categorized into distinct levels. While some levels have self-explanatory descriptions (e.g. warning, error), others are less specific (e.g. info, debug).

Common principles

Parenthical log message use the same level

When log messages are used to indicate the start and end of an operation, both start and end message use the same log-level.

Use cases

Command execution

For the WitlessRunner and its protocols the following log levels are used:

  • High-level execution -> debug

  • Process start/finish -> 8

  • Threading and IO -> 5